Get to Know a Segpay Employee: Marco

Marco Escobar

A little more than a year ago, Segpay welcomed Marco Escobar as its IT Director, responsible for all of our systems and PCI compliance efforts. We sat down with Marco to learn more about him.

Where are you from originally?

Born in Secaucus, New Jersey – home of the NFL replay studio. We lived in both Weehawken and West New York, NJ – just across the Hudson river from NYC – until I graduated from high school. My family actually moved to south Florida at that time, but returned to NJ after a couple of years. Little did I know at the time that I’d be back.

So when did you come back to FL and what is the story there?

My wife and I moved here in 2009. When we were dating in the late 90s we would often vacation here and we talked about coming here permanently to raise our family. So, in 2009 we made the move.

Where did you work before Segpay?

My previous job was with an online brokerage firm called Tradestation. I was there almost 9 years. Although it was a stable situation and I liked it, I was ready for a move somewhere I could take on more responsibility with more of a management path.

Why work at Segpay?

I liked that it is a small but growing company, still at a stage where everyone has the opportunity to really show their worth. Putting in the effort and doing a good job is recognized here, and appreciated.

Any specific projects you’ve enjoyed working on?

There really is a lot going on here (see “growing company”) so it’s tough to pinpoint one specific thing. However, we’ve done a lot to bring services in-house that were previously done by third parties. It’s allowed me to interact with lots of vendors, negotiate contracts and really drill down into areas that I’d only been peripherally involved with before, while saving money for the company.

How did you get started in IT?

I studied IT in school and was fortunate to land a position after graduation as a sys admin with a hedge fund, and I’ve grow in the field from there.

Long term career goal?

At some point I hope to get to the executive stage, where I can provide strategic direction on a business level.

Any hobbies?

I have three boys, so at this point their hobbies are my hobbies. Outside of work much of my time is spent at baseball games, soccer matches and guitar lessons. I do try to run 2-3 times a week, about 4-6 miles each time. And on the rare occasions where possible, I enjoy relaxing at home.

Read any good books lately?

Resisting Happiness by Matthew Kelly. It is somewhat of a spiritual book that a friend suggested, and I definitely recommend it as well.

Favorite travel destination?

Turks and Caicos. Amazing beaches and very hospitable people.

Who do you admire outside of work, and why?

Lots of people, but my father in-law is at the top of the list. I’ve known him for 20 years and no matter the situation he always seems to exhibit a calm, measured demeanor. He has taught me a lot of valuable lessons for which I will always be grateful, including how to use the famous “yes, dear” as a strategic tool for a happy marriage. 🙂

Share this post with your friends

Our website uses “cookies” and other technologies, which store small amounts of information on your computer or device, to allow certain information from your web browser to be collected and improve your experience. By using this website, you accept the terms of our privacy policy and cookie policy.